Reminder - Slow Down in School Zones in Manatee County


Law Enforcement – Reminding Drivers, Kids are back in school

That means, School Zones are active and penalties are strict for not following the law

Generally, the posted speed in a school zone is 15 or 20 mph

For example… Driving 37 miles per hour in a 15 m.p.h. school zone, carries a fine…of approximately $456 ….

The minimum fine you'll face for speeding in a school zone is more than $150 and points on your license.

For most places, any more than 30 miles per hour over the school zone speed limit will get you a mandatory court date.

Law Enforcement also advise parents that children should wait for their bus in a safe place away from the road. Drivers though do need to be aware of kids near roadways. Bicycle lanes will be busier near schools, crosswalks will be active

School Zone Speed and Violations

F.S. 316.1895designates that most of the time, the speed in a school zone is going to be 20 miles-per-hour.

Unfortunately, this is one of the prime spots for traffic cops. Even worse, the fines you pay for speeding in a school zone are going to double. The fine schedule, per statute, is:

  • 1 mph to 9 mph over the limit: $50 (no warnings are issued for school zone violations in Florida)
  • 10 mph to 14 mph over the limit: $200
  • 25 mph to 19 mph over the limit: $300
  • 20 mph to 29 mph over the limit: $350
  • 30 to 39 mph over the limit: $500 (and that’s for a first offense!)
  • 50 mph or more over the limit: $2,000 for first-time offender

In addition, speeding in a school zone in Florida will result in 3 points automatically on your license. It could be 4 points if you’re traveling 16 mph or more over the posted speed limit and 6 points if unlawful speed causes a crash in a school zone. You may also be subject to license suspension and a mandatory court appearance.

If you’re caught texting and driving in a school zone, be forewarned that while this offense doesn’t normally result in points assessed to your license, you could receive 2 points on your license for a first-time texting-while-driving in a school zone offense and 5 points on your license for a second offense.

First Day of School in Manatee County

First Day of School in Manatee County