Florida's "16 County Coalition" To Meet With House Everglades Caucus

Lake O

Lake O

U.S. Representatives from 16 Florida counties will meet on Thursday with fellow members of Congress about the funding status of a number of water infrastructure projects.

The "16 County Coalition" includes House members from Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach and Polk counties, among others.

They'll meet with the House Everglades Caucus, which is co-chaired by South Florida Congressmen Mario Diaz-Balart and Alcee Hastings.

Among the projects the coalition supports is the one to rebuild the Herbert Hoover Dyke that surrounds Lake Okeechobee.

It's the poor condition of that dyke that leads to discharges, which have been linked to toxic algae in waterways around the state.

Photo: Getty Images

92.1 CTQ · Suncoast Country

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel